News / Post-event

2013 Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio Literary Contest winners named

decl_amelia lapenaOn Feb. 28, 2013, the Department of English and Comparative Literature of the University of the Philippines-Diliman awarded the winners of the 2013 Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio Literary Contest. Named after Professor Emeritus Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio, acclaimed as the “Mother of Philippine Puppetry” and director of the UP Creative Writing Center (now Institute) from 1985 to 1995, the annual Literary Contest includes categories for poetry, short story, and creative nonfiction. It is open to undergraduate and graduate students of UP-Diliman.

The winners are:


First Prize
“Insects” by Gerardo Gabriel Quiroz Mantaring

Second Prize
“Eurydice, Rebooted and Other Poems” by Evangeline B. Gubat

Third Prize
“Film Scores, Noir and Nearly” by Andrew Albert Jao Ty

Honorable Mention
“Tripping in Isolation” by Maria Ysabel De La Cruz Caballes

Short Story

First Prize
“Transit” by Jaimee Faith J. Santos

Second Prize
“The Marching of the Ants” by Dominic Paul Chow Sy

Third Prize
“Dead Things” by Ernest Jean Angeles

Creative Nonfiction

Third Prize
“Into the World of a Home Not Lost” by Cyrene Joy L. Ela

This year’s Board of Judges were Dr. Paolo Manalo (Chair), Dr. Isabelita Reyes, and Ms. Gabrielle Alejandra Lee for Poetry; Dr. Jose Dalisay (Chair), Mr. Francis Paolo Quina, and Mr. Thomas David Chaves for Short Story; and Prof. Gerardo Los Baños (Chair), Prof. Carljoe Javier, and Ms. Florianne Marie Jimenez for Creative Nonfiction.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s