Call for Entries: 13th Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award

The LIKHAAN:UP Institute of Creative Writing (ICW) and the Madrigal-Gonzalez family are pleased to make the call for entries for the 13th Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award.

The Madrigal-Gonzalez Award is administered by the UP ICW and is generously sponsored by Atty. Gizela Gonzalez-Montinola and the Madrigal-Gonzalez family. The award is given to the best first book by a Filipino author, in order to encourage further literary production. The award alternates biannually between books written in Filipino and English.

Photo from

Photo from

Last year, the award went to “Bugtong ng Buwan (at iba pang kuwento)” by Will P. Ortiz, a collection of short stories for children in Filipino. Books eligible for this year’s award are those written in English and published from 2011 to 2012.

Previous winners of the award include Angelo Lacuesta, Luna Sicat Cleto, F.H. Batacan, Ellen Sicat, Vicente Garcia Groyon, Kristian Cordero, Rica Bolipata Santos, Zosimo Quibilan, Adam David, Lualhati Abreu, and Lawrence Ypil.

The finalists for the award will be announced later in the year, and will take part in a forum during ICW’s annual UP Writers Night, where the winner will be revealed.

For more information on the Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award and nomination process, please e-mail the UP Institute of Creative Writing at

From Likhaan: University of the Philippines Institute of Creative Writing


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s