UP CMC awards 18 fellowships in 17th Graciano Lopez Jaena Community Journalism Workshop on Disaster Reporting

Eighteen journalists, educators and students are this year’s fellows in the 17th Graciano Lopez Jaena Community Journalism Workshop.

Organized by the University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication (UP CMC), the theme for this year’s workshop is “Media and Disasters: Reporting for Accountability.” It will be held at Plaridel Hall, UP Diliman, Quezon City from October 13 to 19.

The 14 fellows who are either journalists or educators are Bernardino Balabo (Promdi News), Jefferson Caparas (TV5), Janess Ann Ellao (, Ofelia Empian (Baguio Chronicle), Marvin David Ferraz (Rappler), Charmaine Ivy Hernando (St. Mary’s University), Ainjeliz Orong (The Freeman Newspaper), Carla Padilla (Central Luzon State University [CLSU] and Cabanatuan Herald), Jessa Mardy Polonio (Baguio Chronicle), Rommel Rutor (DYMS Aksyon Radyo), Macey Salabit (Dyaryo Veritas), John Rizle Saligumba (Davao Today), Seymour Sanchez (Far Eastern University) and Divina Suson (DXRJ Iligan).

The four students admitted as fellows are Iza Darlene Cay (Tinig ng Plaridel and Vera Files), Luis Adrian Hidalgo (Tinig ng Plaridel), Candeze Mongaya (Project NOAH and former reporter of Cebu Daily News) and Vince Alvic Nonato (Vera Files). All of them are students of UP CMC.

The 18fellows were chosen on the basis of their professional background, sample works and story idea for an article they should write during the workshop.

The speakers for the workshop are Prof. Luis Teodoro (Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility and former UP CMC dean), Dr. Georgina Encanto (former UP CMC dean), Marites Vitug (Rappler), Ed Lingao (Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism), Dr. Diosa Labiste (UP Department of Journalism), Prof. Ma. Gisella Dizon-Reyes (UP College of Law) and Dr. Benito Pacheco (UP College of Engineering).

Grace Morales and Editha Tiamson whose loved ones were victims of the November 23, 2009 Ampatuan Massacre will also speak during the workshop,along with Melanie Pinlac of CMFR. The urban poor group Kalipunan ng Damayang Mahihirap (KADAMAY) will help facilitate the field work for the 18 fellows.

The members of the organizing committee for the workshop are Dean Roland Tolentino, Associate Dean Danilo Arao, Department of Journalism Chair Lucia Tangi, former Dean Luis Teodoro, Office of Extension and External Relations (OEER) Director Patrick Campos, Administrative Officer Gina Villegas, Office of Research and Publication staff Alex Tamayo and OEER staff Regina Mendez. CLSU Prof. Ben Domingo is the workshop moderator.

For more details, please call OEER at 920-6864 or 981-8500 local 2668 or send an email to

Press release from Department of Journalism, UP College of Mass Communication.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s