2013 Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award finalists announced

The LIKHAAN: UP Institute of Creative Writing (ICW) and the Madrigal-Gonzalez family are pleased to announce the finalists for the 13th Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award (MGBFBA). They are: Body Haul by Allan Pastrana, Silver Fish, Hook of Moon by Neal Imperial, After the Body Displaces Water by Daryll Delgado, Falling Into the Manhole: A Memoir by John Jack Wigley, Agueda: A Ballad of Stone and Wind by Anna Maria L. Harper, and Have by Marc Gaba.

The MGBFBA is administered by the ICW and is generously sponsored by Atty. Gizela Gonzalez-Montinola and the Madrigal-Gonzalez family. The awards alternate each year between books written in Filipino and English. Award-winning fiction writer Charlson Ong, award-winning poet Mookie Katigbak-Lacuesta, and Prof. Shirley O. Lua, director of the Bienvenido N. Santos Creative Writing Center of De La Salle University, make up this year’s panel of judges.

A forum with the finalists and the conferment of the award will take place on the afternoon of December 6, 2013 (Friday) at UP Diliman right before the start of the annual UP Writers Night.

Former winners include Sarge Lacuesta, Luna Sicat Cleto, Ellen Sicat, Ichi Batacan, Kristian Cordero, Vincent Groyon, Rica Bolipata Santos, Zosimo Quibilan, Adam David, Lualhati Abreu, Lawrence Ypil, and Will P. Ortiz. who last year won for her story collection, Bugtong ng Buwan.

Source: Likhaan: University of the Philippines Institute of Creative Writing. (2013, November 18). [Facebok update]. Retrieved from


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s