Nationwide Literature Education Series Visits Cebu

The literary and youth volunteer group Linangan sa Imahen, Retorika, at Anyo (LIRA), in partnership with the Komisyon sa Wikang Filipino (KWF) and the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), will hold the 31st edition of its nationwide seminar-workshop series, “Sining ng Tugma, Sukat, at Talinghaga” (STST; Art of Rhyme, Meter, and Metaphor) at the Ecotech Center, Lahug, Cebu City on December 7-8, 2013.

STS 2013 lowres

STST Cebu will be held in partnership with the local hosts, namely the Cebu Normal University, Pangrehiyong Sentro ng Wika at Kultura – Region VII, and DepEd Region VII, with support from the JP Anthony D. Cuñada Law Office.

Started in 2008, the STST is a nationwide education outreach program that has toured 30 towns and has served 2,537 people, mostly public school teachers and students. It aims to help advance literature, language, patriotism, and the beneficiaries’ communication skills through the teaching of native literary works and forms.

For 2013, the STST program is part of the larger project titled “Sulong: Dangal ng Filipino,” which includes day-long seminar-workshops on the “Sagisag Kultura” (cultural icons of the Philippines) and the National Orthography. Legazpi City (Albay), Roxas City (Capiz), Tarlac City, Naga City (Camarines Sur), Dapitan City (Zamboanga del Norte), Butuan City (Agusan del Norte), Koronadal City (South Cotabato), and Puerto Princesa City (Palawan) were the other beneficiaries for 2013.

Founded in 1985, LIRA is a nationally recognized, volunteer-run, education NGO; the oldest organization of poets in Filipino; and one of the country’s premier literary groups. In pursuance of its mission of advancing literature, language, and patriotism, the organization holds a yearly five-month-long poetry clinic held for the most part in UP Diliman. The STST is an effort to bring part of this clinic outside of Metro Manila.

In 2011, LIRA was declared as one of the Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations (TAYO) in Malacañang Palace by President Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III, making LIRA the first literary group in the TAYO Awards’ nine-year history. In 2012, LIRA was named by the National Outstanding Volunteer Awards as the National Capital Region’s outstanding volunteer organization.

Heading the STST Cebu team as its lecturers are the award-winning writers Dr. Michael M. Coroza and Prof. Louie Jon A. Sanchez of the Ateneo de Manila University, and program director Phillip Kimpo Jr., LIRA president. Beverly W. Siy, immediate former president, is the creator of the STS.

Parties interested in helping or participating in the program can contact the STST team at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s